databases.jpg (4758 bytes)
 

My Account
Home
About DCL
Book Club Kits
Bookmobile
Calendar
Catalog
Children
Computer Use
Databases
FAQ
Friends
Hours/Locations
Job Resources
Magazines
Neighbors
New Titles
Press Releases
Reference
Vacancies
Young Adults
Contact Us

 



Databases

Dorchester County Library

nul
DISCUS Resources
An A-Z list of DISCUS databases.  South Carolina's Virtual Library.  Search by grade level or by subject.  User name and password are required if searching from home.  Contact the library for more information.

African American Archives
View and share exciting, original source documents that reveal a side of the African American story few have seen before.  Made possible by a unique partnership with The National Archives, The Library of Congress and other institutions.

America: History & Life
A definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Includes 2,009 authors and approximately 100,00 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs.  Indexed to allow thorough searching capabilities.

Ancestry Library Edition: Available inside the Library only
Use to conduct genealogical research.

Britannica Learning Zone
Full-text content including poems, stories, essays, plays and speeches for all age levels. Geared for
PreK - 2nd grade students.

Britannica Online for Kids
Includes Compton's Encyclopedia and Elementary Encyclopedia articles, pictures, maps, videos and activities.

Britannica Online Reference Center
Encyclopedia articles, magazines and journals, Web sites, multimedia, dictionary and thesaurus entries. Includes World Data Analyst.

DISCUS Resources
An A-Z list of DISCUS databases.  South Carolina's Virtual Library.  Search by grade level or by subject.  User name and password are required if searching from home.  Contact the library for more information.

Enciclopedia Juvenil (Spanish)
Spanish elementary encyclopedia for early readers of Spanish.

Explorers and Exploration Inside the Library | Home Access
This fact-filled reference focuses on explorers, their expeditions and their discoveries.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, more than 55,000 resource entries, and much more!

Gale InfoTrac Inside the Library | Home Access
Multiple databases offering full text magazine & newspaper articles for Health, Business, Academic and General Research needs.

Gale's Literary Index
A master index to the major literature products published by Gale.  It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source.

Heritage Quest  Inside the Library | Home Access
A unique, ongoing collection of research materials for tracing family lineage and American culture, beginning with the 13 original colonies.

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center
Includes a collection of core, proprietary articles covering over 140 topics as well as licensed periodicals, books and video.

Home Improvement Reference Center
Full text database designed to assist homeowners in do-it-yourself home repair, maintenance, and remodeling projects.  Step-by-step instructions for thousands of projects in the areas of plumbing, outdoor, woodworking, electrical, and decorating.

Learning Express
Provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series.  Includes immediate scoring, complete answer explanations and an analysis of your results.

MagillOnLiterature Plus
Premier literary database combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors.  Includes literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries as well as biographies and author essays.

Mango Languages
Mango Languages offers 21 foreign languages and 14 ESL programs for foreign speakers to learn English.  You can learn real world conversational skills from native speakers in a few short minutes.

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus provides authoritative up to date health information, access to directories, encyclopedias, medical dictionary, tutorials and extensive information on prescription and non-prescription drugs that originates from the National Institutes of Health and other government agencies.

NoveList Plus
NoveList is a fiction and nonfiction database for all age levels. Search or browse for books by category, genre or theme.  NoveList also includes Readers Advisory, School Resources and Personal Reading Lists.

Optimal Resume
A career management site offering a variety of tools to help you CREATE, PRESENT, MANAGE and SHARE your professional credentials.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948.  PubMed includes links to full-text articles which may be found in other databases such as PubMed Central or at publisher web sites.

Salem Health Inside the Library | Home Access
Salem Health is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers.

Salem History  Inside the Library | Home Access
Salem History is a robust online database encompassing the complete content of Salem’s The Decades, Great Athletes, Great Events from History, and Great Lives from History.  The database offers simultaneous cross search capabilities or individual title searches.

Salem Science  Inside the Library | Home Access
Salem Science is a robust online database that includes the complete content of Salem’s Encyclopedia of Global Warming.

Sharpe Online Reference *NEW*
Offers access to core references in U.S. History and Culture and Global History and Culture.  Includes an extensive photograph collection, teachers' resources and search and navigation tools.

Small Business Reference Center
Provides up to date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business.  The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books.

Thomson Gale LegalForms
Provides a wide selection of South Carolina and US legal forms.  Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord, tenant and many others.

Toxnet
Toxnet provides access to information on toxicology, including hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases from the United States National Library of Medicine.

TumbleBooks
A collection of animated, talking picture books for children.  This easy-to-use, interactive database makes learning fun by including games and comprehensive questions.


 


  South Carolina's Virtual Library

 


* When accessing a database from home
you may be prompted for your library card number.
Some databases will prompt you for a username and password. 
Visit the library to obtain this information.

Direct comments to Library Director

 

Hit Counter
~ Thank You For Visiting! ~